Questions about cryptocurrency

onebigindian

Hi,

I'm totally new to this entire world, and I'm learning about it, and I had some questions about cryptocurrency. Here goes:

1) If am a PHYSICAL business in India, what are the steps I need to take in order to accept cryptocurrency at my establishment? (say a coffee shop or ice cream parlour). I'm assuming there'll be a smartphone app, just like we have PayTM, where you scan the other guy's QR code to make the payment, just, instead of rupees and paise, it'll be Bitcoin or Ethereum or something, am I correct? Which app do I use? I'm assuming that same app will work ALL OVER THE WORLD without any "modifications" or whatever, right?

2) What is the DIFFERENCE between Bitcoin and Ethereum? What exactly IS a "smart contract"? Is it like this, that if I say buy an ice cream with Ethereum, and I don't like the TASTE of the ice cream, then the money for that ice cream can come directly back to me, without the owner of the ice cream shop being able to DO anything about it?? Is THAT what it is? What's to prevent me from just saying  the ice cream was crap in order to get the refund, when in fact there was nothing wrong with it??!!

3) If 1 kg of potatoes or tomatoes costs 1 Bitcoin or 1 Ethereum in America, will it also cost 1 Bitcoin in India? What's the ECONOMICS of it all?

That's all for now, I'm sure I'll have more questions to dump on you guys as time goes on, let me chew on these for the time being! :)

• Like 2

You can install a mobile wallet on your tablet/phone and accept Bitcoin on there using QR codes. Be really careful about installing random appstore wallets though. An easy one to try out is Coinomi, which has more than Bitcoin on it.